On the night of December 20, 1917, British forces crossed the Yarkon River and conquered Tel Aviv from the ruling Turks.
The spot w the British crossed the river is only one of a dozen hidden “Corners” and stunning buildings off Tel Aviv’s beaten track south of the Yarkon.
It is topped by a marble pillar that probably decorated either Caesarea or Apollonia and that was brought by General Hill to mark his conquest of Tel Aviv.
Until 1931, animals were butcd at an abattoir on the shores of Jaffa Port and the meat was brought to Tel Aviv by mule.
After Arabs rioted in Jaffa in 1929, and many of that city’s Jews moved to Tel Aviv, the British authorities finally agreed to license a slaughterhouse right , in the north of the new Hebrew city.
In 2003, Tel Aviv was declared a World Heritage Site by the United Nations because of the predominance of Bauhaus architecture that originated in pre-Nazi Germany.
Tel Aviv was only a mass of sand dunes when established in 1909, and it is difficult to build foundations on sand.
Unlike European houses, that featured large windows, the hot sunny climate of Tel Aviv called for small windows and a different approach.
Our thanks to retired tour guide and long-time Tel Avivian Yona Wiseman for showing us Tel Aviv’s hidden corners.